New WFDB Executive Committee Takes Office

WFDB 2Antwerp: The World Federation of Diamond Bourses (WFDB) has announced changes to its Executive Committee following unanimous votes at the recent 37th World Diamond Congress in Dubai. President Ernie Blom was re-elected to third consecutive term, while Israel Diamond Exchange President Yoram Dvash was elected Vice President.

Rony Unterman continues as Secretary-General, while the new Treasurer-General is Bharat Diamond Bourse Vice President Mehul Shah who replaces long-standing officeholder Dieter Hahn. The Board members are Rami Baron, Julien Drybooms, Anoop Mehta, Lin Qiang, Alex Popov, Reuven Kaufman, Nikhil Jhaveri and Peter Meeus. In addition, there is the Deputy-Secretary-General Michel Schonfeld, Deputy-Treasurer-

General Julien Drybooms, who was also made Honorary Life Vice-President, and Executive Director Louise Prior.

The WFDB presented the Diamantaire of the Year award to Willy Rotti, while special awards in recognition of their long-standing service to the WFDB and the wider diamond industry were made to Dieter Hahn, and to former London Diamond Bourse President Harry Levy.