JNA Awards Declares Updated Categories

Hong Kong: The JNA Awards aims to promote and uphold excellence in innovation, creativity, leadership, sustainability and best business practices with a focus on initiatives that have a positive impact on Asia’s jewellery and gemstone sector.

This year, the organiser has adjusted a few award categories to better respond to the needs of the industry and, at the same time, encourage wider participation.

The award categories for 2017 are as follows:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award (Nominated by the organiser)
  • Brand of the Year — Retail
  • Industry Innovation of the Year
  • Manufacturer of the Year — Jewellery
  • Outstanding Enterprise of the Year — ASEAN
  • Outstanding Enterprise of the Year — Greater China
  • Outstanding Enterprise of the Year — India
  • Retailer of the Year (450 outlets and below)
  • E-supplier of the Year
  • Sustainability Initiative of the Year
  • Young Entrepreneur of the Year (Age 40 and below)

Wolfram Diener, Senior Vice President of UBM Asia, said, “Feedback from the industry is always appreciated as it allows us, as organisers, to improve the experience of entrants without compromising fairness. We are very encouraged to see many past entrants benefitting from early registration when it was first offered last year. We would like to keep up the momentum this year to enable interested parties to have enough time to study the categories prior to the entry process.”

Letitia Chow, Founder of JNA, Director of Business Development — Jewellery Group at UBM Asia, and Chair of the JNA Awards judging panel, explained the changes on the affected categories.

“We have expanded the scope of e-commerce through the E-supplier of the Year category, which is open to all businesses related to jewellery conducted on the electronic platform from mine to market. Moreover, the Industry Innovation of the Year and Sustainability Initiative of the Year categories will be judged separately as we recognise them as equally important, but different drivers to the future growth of the industry.”

A complete description of the award categories, as well as a detailed explanation of the judging criteria and entry rules, may be reviewed after registering online. Entries may be submitted starting from early March to early May.

The JNA Awards 2017 is supported by Headline Partners Rio Tinto Diamonds and Chow Tai Fook (CTF), together with Shanghai Diamond Exchange (SDE), Guangdong Gems & Jade Exchange, and Guangdong Land Holdings Limited (GDLAND) serving as Honoured Partners.