Industry Elects New AWDC Board Members

Antwerp: The Antwerp World Diamond Centre (AWDC) has announced the appointment of six new Board Members representing the trade on the Board of Directors. In the past two days, the Antwerp diamond community participated in Covid-19 safe elections at the AWDC’s building, choosing two representatives among their peers of small, medium-sized and large companies, as voters and candidates are divided in three categories, according to their average turnover.

Mr Sahag Arslanian (Arslanian Group nv). and Mr. Isi Morsel (Dali Diamond Company nv) were automatically elected as Directors in the category of an annual turnover of more than € 100 million. In the second category, with an annual turnover between € 30 million to € 100 million, Mr. Jay Mehta ((J.N. Diamonds bv) and Mr. David Gotlib (IDRP bv) were elected. In the category of an annual turnover of less than € 30 million Mr. Lalit Kumar Nahata (Nahata Lalit) and Mr. Amish Jain (N.N. Diamonds bv) were elected.

Board Directors Mr. Chaim Pluczenik, Mr. Michel Nasielski and Mr. Philip Hoymans, representing the diamond bourses and Mrs Martine Reynaers as Independent Director remain in their position for two more years, until the 2022 elections.

The new Board of Directors will also elect a new President for the AWDC among its members. The Board will bid farewell to outgoing AWDC President Mr. Nishit Parikh, who will be retiring after four years in office. The AWDC expresses its gratitude towards outgoing Board members Mr. Nishit Parikh, Mr. Vimal Lakhani, Mr. Rajiv Kothari, Mr. Chetan Shah, Mr. Samir Mehta and Mr. Jacques Weisz.